After an accident, a Massachusetts driver can usually collect damages from the at-fault party’s insurance. However, there is a chance that the other driver does not carry insurance, which could make receiving compensation difficult, if not impossible. Approximately 6% of Massachusetts drivers do not have insurance, putting themselves and other motorists at risk of a frustrating financial struggle after a collision. Therefore, Massachusetts law requires drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage.
Required Insurance Coverage in Massachusetts
This insurance covers bodily injury due to an accident and is known as uninsured motorist bodily injury (UMBI). Massachusetts drivers are required to carry $20,000 in UMBI coverage (up to $40,000 per accident). However, coverage for property damage is not required. This is known as uninsured motorist property damage (UMPD) insurance and pays to repair or replace the driver’s vehicle. Drivers in Massachusetts can also carry collision insurance, which covers repairs after any accident.